Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The first day of adventure ended with a hot shower, simple dinner and a sound sleep. The next day was to begin at 5 am for those of us who wanted to go on a trek. It was to be a ‘tough-terrain’ trek and so the kids were forced to stay back with a few other adults who opted out. I didn’t mind the ‘tough-terrain’ talk as it just meant ‘uphill’ to me. Got to be uphill through the woods, I thought and went expecting to be back within a couple of hours or so.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. Just the first kilometer or two was just as I thought – a walk. It was an uphill walk on a neatly tarred road. At the end of that walk, we reached a clearing in the woods. Most of us thought it was almost the end of the trek, but in reality, that’s where our trek was going to begin! That walk for a couple of kilometers uphill was nothing compared to what was yet to come.

We were looking at a dried-up river bed (with traces of water here and there) which criss-crossed upwards through thick woods. It was steep and uphill through and through. Water must be flowing down that way in great speed during monsoons. We were to go upwards on that route! Crazy?!

That’s when it dawned on me that it was indeed going to be one of the most memorable trekking experiences ever. We started on our trek . . . we jumped on or over the boulders, stones, wet roots; ducked under thick undergrowth, stretched ourselves out to climb over some steep boulders, laid down and crawled on some rock slopes when there was no other way to climb, sat on our bottoms and dragged ourselves, used ropes to pull each other; but truth be told, we hardly walked normally throughout that trek simply because there was nothing normal about the terrain. I should have taken ‘tough-terrain’ seriously when I heard it.

Bit of the way. Guide in Blue.

Guide in Blue.

The guide who came with us for the trek was a very experienced gentleman (the lady who heads the team stayed back). He along with two more members of his team helped us every now and then when we were stuck within nettles, between slippery boulders or when we simply didn’t know what to hold onto. Two dogs, apparently friendly with the team joined us on our trek (I believe they usually do) and it was fun to watch them chase after some scampering rabbits or the like.

With one of the Companions

With one of the Companions


About two and a half hours later, when we finally reached the peak with huffs and puffs aplenty along the way, most of us felt as though we had climbed Mount Everest! Yeah, almost! It was more of a mountaineering expedition, not a trek.
Right on top, enjoying oranges and biscuits.

Right on top, enjoying oranges and biscuits.

While we were celebrating our achievement with some jungle oranges and biscuits, I thought that the worst is over and dreamt of a gentle, winding way back to ground level. When the guide told us that we were to go down the same way we came up, none of us believed him. But that is exactly what we had to do, no other choice. There was hardly any walking to do (nothing new there). On our hands, knees, crawling and tumbling down half the way, we reached ground zero, all in one piece. Overall, it was a 6 hour long ordeal we paid for, endured and enjoyed thoroughly.

How else can you come down?

How else can you come down?

After a quick shower and a sumptuous lunch to ease the trembling bones, we packed and started on our return journey. Just one more event was left. That happened mid-way between Coorg and Mysore in a huge open field.
A trip in the air was saved for the last to complete our two-day adventure trip. As the sun was setting, we took turns to go para-sailing across the beautiful sky. I watched in awe as each one took off after a short run on the ground. As the lady guide maneuvered the jeep deftly each time, the parachute sailed across and the ‘para-sailor’ squealed and waved.

Para-sailing at dusk

Para-sailing at dusk

Sadly the winds picked up and the day light faded before I could take my turn. Everyone felt sorry that I missed out, but I waved it aside with a smile as I already had quite a bit of adventure to fill me up for a couple of years!

PS: I went para-sailing a few months ago. I waved and squealed as I flew. Don’t ask me about my landing!

***
Have you tried trekking on such terrain?
If you are interested in an adventure trip to Coorg, leave a comment or email me.I will guide you.